The Association of Independent Music has celebrated the very best that independent music has to offer at the second annual AIM Independent Music Awards. Hosted by BBC Radio broadcasters Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq, with live performances from Frankie and the Heartstrings, Big Deal and Land Observations, the Awards, held at the Brewery in Clerkenwell, has established itself as the event of the year for independent music talent.

The Prodigy proved their enduring popularity with the masses, receiving the Best Live Act Award as voted for by visitors to New mum, Adele, was also among those honoured at the event, winning the PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act, capping what has been a momentous year for her. Rising stars Alt-J took home Independent Breakthrough of the Year recognising their huge success in the past 12 months, which has seen them become one of the UK’s most popular bands. Enter Shikari, who led the nominations, landed the coveted Independent Album of the Year accolade, beating off stiff competition from Alabama Shakes and Liars. First Aid Kit’s ‘The Lion’s Roar’ was awarded Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album. 60 Days of Static won the hardest working band award and Leefest won the Golden Welly Award for best festival.

It wasn’t just the artists having all the fun, with a wealth of the Independent sector’s behind the scenes movers and shakers also tasting glory. Black Butter Records, who scored a number 1 hit with Rudimental’s ‘Feel The Love’ earlier this year, claimed Best Small Label, Bella Union’s Simon Raymonde won Independent Entrepreneur of the Year and Ian Evans, IME Music accepted the prestigious Indie Champion Award.  The Independent Label of the Year trophy went to 4AD in recognition of their consistently strong A&R, with releases this year from Grimes, Twin Shadow, Purity Ring and Mark Lanegan Band.

As previously announced, Edwyn Collins received the Outstanding Contribution To Music award, which was presented on the night by Edwyn’s long term friend Vic Godard of Subway Sect fame and Frankie & The Heartstrings, whose debut album was produced by Edwyn. Mute Boss, Daniel Miller accepted the Pioneer Award, recognising his huge influence on the independent sector and electronic music in a career spanning three decades.

By |2016-11-01T15:04:56+00:00October 30th, 2012|AGF Blog|