UK Live Music Business Awards, Q Awards and MOBOs – the winners!

//UK Live Music Business Awards, Q Awards and MOBOs – the winners!

UK Live Music Business Awards, Q Awards and MOBOs – the winners!

lukma-logo-2013-214Glastonbury walked away with the ‘Best Large Festival’ prize at the UK Live Music Business Awards in London at a fun packed (and fast paced!) ceremony at the Radisson Blu Portman Hotel. Other winners on the night included Alex Hardee who won Agent of the Year, Kwame Kwaten who was named Artist Manager of the Year, DHP Family who won Promoter of The Year, Orchard Events (wales) were worthy winners of Regional Promoter of the Year and Jamie Finn, of No-Wave (Folkestone) was Indie Promoter Of The Year. Best Record Label Partner went to Claire Haffenden from Universal Music

Latitude picked up the best mid-sized festival gong (15,000 – 39,000 capacity) and Bloodstock picked up best smaller festival (capacity under 15,000). Ben Howard won the “Breakthrough Artist award” and Graham Lambert, a Tour Rep, SJM Concerts, won the “Unsung Hero” Award. Tour Manager Of The Year was Glen Rowe (Muse), Spectacle Of The Year (Best Production) was Muse at Emirates Stadium, London and Best Festival Performance was Biffy Clyro at Reading.

Roger Daltry picked up the ‘Outstanding Contribution’ Award in recognition of his enduring global success as frontman of The Who, and for being a driving force in the Teenage Cancer Trust and organiser of the charity’s high profile concert series.

pee1_Untitled2copy_3And the 18th Annual MOBO Awards took place at the newly opened SSE Hydro Arena, as the hottest names in RnB, soul, gospel, hip hop, reggae and many more descended on the venue for its first televised, multi-artist event.  The evening saw gongs handed out in 13 diverse MOBO categories featuring nominees such as Disclosure, AlunaGeorge, Rudimental, Jessie J, Jessie Ware and Wretch 32 amongst others who were all in the running for one of the coveted awards with success stories; Laura Mvula and Wiley in the lead with four nominations each. Each winner was given an 18ct gold leaf MOBO trophy carefully redesigned for this year’s 18th anniversary celebrations. And the wmnners are:


Best African Act – Fuse ODG
Best Album – ‘Home’, Rudimental
Best Female in association with Tresor Paris – Laura Mvula
Best Gospel – Lurine Cato
Best International Act – Kendrick Lamar
Best Jazz – Sons of Kemet
Best Male – Wiley
Best Newcomer in association with HTC – Krept & Konan
Best Reggae Act – Sean Paul
Best RnB/Soul Act – Laura Mvula
Best Song in association with PRSforMusic – ‘La La La’, Naughty Boy
Best UK Hip Hop/Grime – Tinie Tempah
Best Video in association with SBTV – ‘La La La’, Naughty Boy
Be MOBO – Stephen Lawrence Trust

And the Q Awards have also been announced. Jake Bug won Best New Act, Foals Were best Live Act, Glastonbury was a winner again with Best Live Event, Ellie Goulding won Best Solo Act, Vampire Weekend won Best Act In The World Today, Chrissie Hynde was awarded Classic Songwriter and The Pet Shop Boys picked up the Outstanding Contribution Award. Suede were Q Icons, and Robbie Williams is Q Idol.

By |2016-11-01T15:04:24+00:00October 21st, 2013|AGF Blog|